7 Comments
Apr 13, 2022Liked by The Real Dr. Steven Horvitz

I do like to cook and I like growing my own herbs and spices, onions, garlic and celery. Fresh out of the yard, spices are very aromatic and tasty. Since my family loves mushrooms, I save the plastic containers and start my seeds on my big south facing window sill. Celery, save the bottom part of your organic celery stalk and plant in ground, leaving a little of the green above the dirt. 9 times out of 10 you get a new celery stalk!

Music, depending on what I am cooking, and my sons new turntable and our large collection of record albums, the choices are endless. The Hooters, Renaissance, Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young to start.

Expand full comment
Apr 13, 2022Liked by The Real Dr. Steven Horvitz

I cook because I like to have control over what I eat, because I like the challenge of finding new recipes and because of the opportunity to be creative. And with a Passover seder to prepare, I have been spending a lot of time in the kitchen lately.

I listen to classical music because it is inspiring.

Expand full comment
Apr 12, 2022Liked by The Real Dr. Steven Horvitz

I love to cook. I enjoy creating meals that appeal to the whole family, full of flavor, able to please my husband's picky palate. I like trying new techniques and new recipes, and I like the challenge of turning former-life-favorites into low carb substitutions. Not replacements, but similar and acceptable new additions to our diet. The difficulties come when something is received with less enthusiasm than I hoped for. Thankfully it's becoming more and more infrequent.

I usually don't listen to music while I cook though - I'm a podcast gal!

Expand full comment

A very quick reminder on why you need to eat all your “juices”😯

https://www.instagram.com/reel/CcQUezZvNCr/?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y=

Expand full comment
Apr 12, 2022Liked by The Real Dr. Steven Horvitz

I do not like cooking ... I LOVE cooking!! Why? Because it is relaxing & cleansing right down to the soul to handle, wash, chop, slice & dice fresh vegetables & meats; knowing that you are creating something that will nourish your loved ones and make them feel good from the inside out. And yes, music is a must - anything from classical to Adele, depending on the mood that day. But first and foremost, it is food created with guidance from above - that is the secret ingredient in every dish!

Expand full comment
Apr 12, 2022Liked by The Real Dr. Steven Horvitz

Actually, “low carb” is and has been very mainstream for some time now. It is certainly accepted in the current “mainstream” narrative of “good/correct/better”, so no worries about “misinformation”….

You have a better chance of being labeled an extremist with #highfat😏

Expand full comment
Apr 12, 2022Liked by The Real Dr. Steven Horvitz

My wife likes her steak overdone. This is a moral dilemma for me every time.

Expand full comment