10 Comments

Great information and thank you, Dr H.! I’ve read and learned about the bad oils but always positive to read again to make sure I’m following truth.

Expand full comment

Great history lessons on the process of oils. Thank you.

I also saw a great article on types of butters last week. The European butter and only a few American Butters have 82% plus butter fat. We Switched to Plugra last week, what a difference.

Crisco cans only have one use (after cleaned) storing extra bacon fat which I use for cooking.

Expand full comment

Where can I find Plugra? Thank you.

Expand full comment

Last week and this week Acme in Medford has it on sale for $3.29 for 1/2 lb. I have seen it in Shop Rite, Sprouts, and Whole Foods. Also, Kerrygold Irish butter is another go to.

Expand full comment

While Pulgra is 82% it is made with conventional cream from grain fed cow. It has a European sounding name, but is domestic. Unfortunately, it also used added flavourings to mimic that of real cultured butter. A better bet is to look for grassfed instead. Organic Valley has a good one at 84%, and there is the popular Kerry Gold(Go for their unsalted. It’s 100% grassfed and 84% vs the 82% of their salted.)

Expand full comment
author

Luv me some Kerry Gold butter...... 🧈🧈🧈

Expand full comment

I bought a product by Nutiva to use in place of Crisco. The ingredients are organic palm fruit oil, organic unrefined virgin coconut oil, organic unrefined red palm oil. Is palm fruit oil unhealthy? Good article on the origin of seed oils. Thank you!

Expand full comment
author

Gerry

Palm oil is not used that much in my area so I have not dig deep on it yet.

Expand full comment

Ok, thanks for the reply.

Expand full comment

Outstanding article.

The same scenario happening to add Fluoride to our drinking water.

Expand full comment