8 Comments

It might not be the biggest problem. But it is probably the most profitable.

Expand full comment

How can big Pharma make money if people stop taking their meds, take responsibility for their own health, change their terrible, eating habits and heal through diet change. I understand that somethings you have to take medication, but not for a lot!!

I was diagnosed with type two diabetes, put on metformin And then… I went keto. Within about four months I was totally off all diabetic meds!!

Just had blood work done and my fasting glucose was 89. It’s amazing what a healthy diet can do!😎

Expand full comment

as I scrolled down, I gotta tell you I thought I was going to see the "real" answer. OMG😬🤨😳.

I feel that sometimes medication, intervention by modern medicine can be helpful for short time. I feel this can be comparable to the way. We also eat on a daily basis. The celebration foods that we all have learned to enjoy all of a sudden are accessible 24 seven 3,65. Our bodies aren't set up to manage that kind of caloric - quality & quantity intake. Just like a triathlete - they practice to be prepared. So when we eat a quality, fulfilling nutritious meal, maybe take a walk after we eat, maybe eating, intermittently, eating early dinners, then we're preparing ourselves to be able to take on that seasonal/occasional "HIIT" meal. High intake interruption taboo. All

Of this puts are bodies - digestive system. into a negative training mode.

Small changes over a period of time promote huge gains.

Expand full comment

The *biggest* problem? In all of healthcare? I can't say yes. One of the biggest, perhaps. But there are big, bad problems in many areas of healthcare/medicine (and let's acknowledge that those are not the same thing). Off the top of my head, regulatory capture of healthcare-related agencies, the revolving FDA-Pharma door, the travesty of the DSM, screening mammography/colonoscopy (or the way they are presented, maybe) Lying journals, toss that in, too, and health insurance for profit. These are not pill-for-lifestyle-issue things, but in many cases that's exactly where they lead. Maybe I read too much Sensible Medicine!

Expand full comment

It’s very hard for me to understand this mentality. I also work at trying not to judge people who do. I am so much the opposite of just taking a pill, that’s sometimes I sabotage myself by not taking whatever medication I truly need. I am also working on that. Don’t people look at the side effects when they take these medication‘s, especially if they take them for a really long time?

Expand full comment

OMG, how true is this! And worse yet, we still do it. For example, I've been overweight all my life and still, when a new "weight loss supplement" or medication is advertised, of course I have to try it. It might be the one that works! I know I just need to change my diet. It's been 50 years now. Have I learned my lesson yet? Obviously not yet......

Expand full comment

This hits home. Over 30 years ago I discovered by process of elimination the I was gluten intolerant though I am not sure I even had the vocabulary to describe it that way. My mother, who was a true believer in pills for everything, was constantly after me to find the right pill. She swore I was absolutely not able to live on my new restricted diet.

Expand full comment
founding

Here's a pill and your new bill !

Expand full comment