9 Comments

I love my cheese. Better with cheddar and can't miss with swiss.

Expand full comment

It was determined through integrative medicine that I have an intolerance to cow’s milk dairy products. I can have goat and sheep milk products. It is best to get tested. I now consume goat’s and sheep’s milk and yogurt as well as cheese.

Expand full comment

Hope cheese is ok for women too - it’s much my diet.

Expand full comment

Some suggestions for those that have lactose intolerance(90% of the human population!). Look for more aged/hard cheeses(avoid mozzarella for example) that have had more time for the lactose to have been consumed in the fermentation. Also consider cheeses made from goat’s and sheep’s milk, which are less problematic for some as well. These cheeses will have stronger flavour as well, so an added bonus will be that a little will go a long way.

Expand full comment

👍

Expand full comment

This come from Google so it’s validity is very questionable but someone once sent it to me so since you brought it up “Fragments of cheese protein, called casomorphins, attach to the same brain receptors as heroin and other narcotics. As a result, each bite of cheese produces a tiny hit of dopamine. He calls it "dairy crack." The “he” referred to is a Dr. Neil Bernard.

By the way, I too LOVE cheese.

Expand full comment

I have also read that and eat cheese every night before going to bed. I LOVE CHEESE!

Expand full comment
author

Caseomorphins are real.

Expand full comment

I tend to agree with your feelings about cheese. I tend to think that CARBS are the big monster lurking in our dietary habits in 'Murika. The problem you now have will be to convince your followers that you are not getting emoluments on the side from the evil "cheese industry". For examples of the kind of "gifting" meant here, just read about Associate Justice Clarence Thomas' latest instance of stepping into the dog poo.

Expand full comment